Université

They manage to publish ridiculous studies in scientific journals

Three people succeeded in a hoax in the United States by publishing entirely invented research articles in several sociology journals, with ridiculous conclusions, in order to demonstrate, in their opinion, the lack of rigour of these journals.

In total, seven of the trio’s twenty articles were accepted by journals, overcoming the feared obstacle of peer review committees supposed to check the academic rigour of the articles.

Explosive subjects
This is not a new sport, and the hoax is consistent with high-profile precedents, including that of physicist Alan Sokal, who in 1996 attacked a review of cultural studies; this time, the fake articles have in common explosive social topics: gender, racism or sexuality, what the authors of the hoax call “grievance studies”.

More than a year of hard work
“When you make absurd and horrible ideas politically fashionable enough, you get them validated at the highest level,” says James Lindsay, who earned a PhD in mathematics in 2010 at the University of Tennessee and has been fully involved in this project for the past year and a half.

The canine culture of rape
The studies were sent under pseudonyms. One of them, published in May in the journal Gender, Place & Culture and finally withdrawn, claimed to study the dog culture of rape in dog parks, drawing parallels with men. Another analysis of why a man masturbating to a woman without her consent commits sexual assault. A paper was a feminist rewrite of a chapter by Mein Kampf.

Dildos and transphobia
Some articles were essays, but some claimed to rely on data, such as interviews, which is theoretically verifiable. This was the case for a study on the impact of anal dildo use by heterosexual men on their transphobia.

Expected reform
“If our project demonstrates one thing, it is that current research in these disciplines cannot be trusted,” James Lindsay told AFP. But the goal of the project, he says, is to “reform” these disciplines, not to destroy them.

A dangerous method
While the hoax made people giggle on Twitter, researchers were concerned about the method and ethics of the false perpetrators, as well as the general conclusions that some might draw for the targeted disciplines.

All concerned
Quality or fraud problems are not limited to the humanities or low-rated journals. Even the largest scientific journals must regularly withdraw articles submitted by sometimes famous researchers.

Transparency standards
There are thousands of scientific journals in the world. Some organizations have established transparency standards, but their adoption by the publishing media varies widely. For medical or biological sciences, these standards include, for example, submitting raw data to the peer review committee to verify the results. In the social sciences and humanities, communicating transcripts of interviews raises confidentiality issues,” says David Mellor of the Center for Open Science. But “we encourage as much transparency as possible,” he says.

The other two trappers are Peter Boghossian, professor of philosophy at the University of Portland, and Helen Pluckrose, editor of AreoMagazine.com, a site that published a detailed account of the deception.

Laissez un commentaire

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Ils réussissent à publier des études ridicules dans des revues scientifiques

Trois personnes ont réussi un canular aux Etats-Unis en faisant publier dans plusieurs revues de sociologie des articles de recherche entièrement inventés, aux conclusions ridicules, afin de démontrer, selon eux, le manque de rigueur de ces revues.

Au total, sept articles sur les vingt écrits par le trio ont été acceptés par des revues, passant l’obstacle redouté des comités de lecture censés vérifier la rigueur académique des articles.

Sujets explosifs
Ce sport n’est pas nouveau, et le canular rejoint des précédents retentissants, notamment celui du physicien Alan Sokal, qui s’était attaqué en 1996 à une revue d’études culturelles.Cette fois, les faux articles ont en commun des sujets de société explosifs: le genre, le racisme ou la sexualité, ce que les auteurs du canular appellent les “études de griefs”.

Plus d’un an de labeur
“Lorsque l’on rend des idées absurdes et horribles suffisamment à la mode politiquement, on arrive à les faire valider au plus haut niveau”, affirme James Lindsay, qui a obtenu un doctorat de mathématiques en 2010 à l’Université du Tennessee et s’est consacré pleinement à ce projet depuis un an et demi.

La culture canine du viol
Les études étaient envoyées sous pseudonymes. L’une d’elles, publiée en mai dans la revue Gender, Place & Culture et finalement retirée, prétendait étudier la culture canine du viol dans les parcs à chiens, en tirant des parallèles avec les hommes. Une autre analyse pourquoi un homme se masturbant en pensant à une femme sans son consentement commet une agression sexuelle. Un papier était une réécriture féministe d’un chapitre de Mein Kampf.

Godemiché et transphobie
Certains articles étaient des essais, mais quelques uns affirmaient se reposer sur des données, comme des entretiens, ce qui est en théorie vérifiable. C’était le cas d’une étude sur l’impact de l’usage d’un godemiché anal par des hommes hétérosexuels sur leur transphobie.

Réforme espérée
“Si notre projet démontre une chose, c’est qu’on ne peut pas faire confiance à la recherche actuelle dans ces disciplines”, dit à l’AFP James Lindsay. Mais le but du projet, selon lui, est de “réformer” ces disciplines, et non de les détruire.

Une méthode dangereuse
Si le canular a fait ricaner sur Twitter, des chercheurs s’inquiétaient de la méthode et de la déontologie des faux auteurs, ainsi que des conclusions généralisatrices que certains pourraient en tirer pour les disciplines visées.

Tous concernés
Les problèmes de qualité ou de fraude ne sont limités ni aux sciences humaines, ni aux revues peu cotées. Même les plus grands journaux scientifiques doivent régulièrement retirer des articles proposés par des chercheurs parfois célèbres.

Normes de transparence
Il existe des milliers de revues scientifiques dans le monde. Des organisations ont établi des normes de transparence, mais leur adoption par les organes de publication est très variable. Pour les sciences médicales ou biologiques, ces normes consistent par exemple à remettre les données brutes au comité de lecture, afin de vérifier les résultats. Dans les sciences humaines, communiquer la retranscription d’entretiens pose des problèmes de confidentialité, explique David Mellor, du Center for Open Science. Mais “nous encourageons le plus de transparence possible”, dit-il.

Les deux autres piégeurs sont Peter Boghossian, professeur de philosophie à l’université à Portland, et Helen Pluckrose, rédactrice en chef d’AreoMagazine.com, site qui a publié un récit détaillé de la supercherie.

Leave a Reply